Behind the Song: Watercolor – Getting to Know Myself Again

I just realized that I’ve neglected a friendship in my life, a really important friendship I’ve had for years.  I’ve ignored her for lots of petty reasons: I haven’t had the time to hang out, I’ve felt like we’re moving in different directions, or sometimes (I admit it) she’s just whinny and annoying.  OK, this is probably the point where I should admit that this friendship is with Myself.  Yes, I’ve realized that I need to get to know Myself again.

Yeah, I couldn't help it, I had to include one of my master pieces.

Yeah, I couldn’t help it, I had to include one of my master pieces.

Most of us have been in this boat before.  We find ourselves at home in the evenings stressing over work instead of relaxing.  As an afterthought, we remember when we had less responsibilities and seemingly more time to indulge in those things we love to do just because – painting, reading, hiking, journaling, playing music.  One of my favorite activities I used to do for pure enjoyment was coloring in my Sesame Street Coloring Book.  And no, I was not 5.  I was in my 20’s.  I did this because Myself – you know, the friend I need to get to know again – sometimes acts like she’s 5, and it’s OK to do what she wants to do once in awhile.

Being a responsible adult who does responsible adult tasks is what we all need to be.  But if we don’t replenish our souls as well, what will eventually be left of us as we show up for work day after day?  I’m constantly getting trapped in giving first priority to the “necessary” things in my life – emails and phone calls.  I forget that to keep the friendship I have with Myself alive, I have to put that stuff aside sometimes.  We certainly don’t develop friendships out of necessity.  The friendship we have with Self is no different.

I was hit with the idea for my song “Watercolor” when I was driving.  I saw an image of me sitting under a tree, painting, all by myself.  I had no obligations that day.  The sun was shining.  I was happy.  This image of painting with watercolors (some unconscious association I’ve made with my coloring book hobby no doubt!) encapsulates everything I want to say.  I want to spend time, not out of obligation but out of enjoyment, to get to know Myself again!

42 thoughts on “Behind the Song: Watercolor – Getting to Know Myself Again

  1. Great song! I’ve been working with artists of all kinds for years and this is fantastic. My blog focuses on artist development, songwriting, social media/promotion, and fan engagement tips for artists, so feel free to follow along and see if it helps along your journey. Thanks and good luck to you!

  2. Thanks for sharing your beautiful masterpiece in song! I can’t wait to share this with my students. I’m already hearing them echo throughout the class singing “I’ll paint my path in watercolor”…as they paint along.

  3. Omg it’s so good! I love this kind of music. I’m downloading it and taking it to me on my trip to the Camino in Spain. I might even make a music video with it. It’s very good. I really need to learn the guitar so I can do stuff like this too. You’re an inspiration 🙂

    • Oh that’s AWESOME! I’m so glad to hear that you’re taking my song along with you on your adventures ahead! I hope you are able to learn to play guitar, it’s a useful and fulfilling skill to have. And please please do make a video to my song if you feel inspired! Have fun in Spain!

  4. Absolutely magnificent. I have listened to “Watercolor” three times already, and plan to play it countless more times in my Man Cave tonight as I return to my own watercolor endeavor. I play acoustic guitar, and cannot seem to find satisfactory songs to listen to in my studio while I paint that touch me in that “watercolor” realm. And now you have brought this wonderful gift into my life. How could I ever thank you enough? I wish you the very best, and offer my sincere gratitude that you found me and shared this with me.

  5. Nice song and great interpretation. I wish I could go ahead and live daily what you describe on the last paragraph of the blog post. Painting daily with no more obligation that that.
    Thanks for sharing and keep the great work.

  6. From one Gemini to another, simply the best! Beautiful music and happy that you are finding your way again through the joys of watercolors!

  7. Thank you for liking my watercolour painting on Dance of Life, for if you had not done that I would not have discovered your wonderful song…. and beautiful voice. Interestingly I am also a Gemini and love singing ….but don’t have the talent for it that you do. Also interesting is that the last person to leave a comment here was another Evelyn. Not that it is significant… just weird co-incidence. Will be sharing you song with fellow artists. Again thank you. I will post this then listen again. By the way colouring in is increasingly used as a de-stressing activity.

    • Thank you for taking the time to listen to my song, Evelyn. I appreciate that you’ll share my song as well – this means a lot to me. Thank you!! And yes, that is so true about colorbook coloring! It is so relaxing.

  8. Rae what a lovely song. At New Word Alive conference we had a talented musician from Nashville Nathan Tasker. It seems to me that you have to be a songwriter if you live in Nashville. Thank you for sharing your song.

  9. Pingback: The Dawn | David Tripp's Blog

  10. Rae. Your watercolor song has been my companion for weeks in the studio, since you first sent it my way. I will never be able to thank you enough. The song has become quite a muse for me as I work in my Man Cave, creating watercolors. Thank you so much.

    • Your words couldn’t make me happier, David. I’m thrilled to hear that my song is a creative companion to you. Thank you for sharing “Watercolor” with your blog followers. Also, I have been enjoying following the development of your paintings – it puts a smile on my face knowing that my song is part of the process! 🙂

  11. Thank you for sharing your music, I enjoyed listening to Watercolor, it is very good. I enjoyed reading this post and it is easy to lose touch with who you are and it is important to recharge and sharpen the saw to quote Stephen Covey. Also, thank you for stopping by my blog and reading it. Take care and blessings.

  12. I love your “Watercolor” beautiful worded and sung song! I love your voice…I feel your belief in what you sing to us…lovely! thank you! and thank you for visiting my blog! Your presence is appreciated!

Leave a Reply

