A Christmas Video for You

“I’ll be Home for Christmas” – I’ve always loved this song.  Something about the easy-flowing melody, the nostalgic lyric and the deep emotional content captured my heart from the start.  Naturally, when I sat down with my guitar to play through the tune a few weeks ago, it poured out like it’s always been in there, waiting for its moment.

Being a musician who focuses on songwriting, I don’t do a whole lot of covers – I only do the songs I really really really like – which is the way it should be, I think!  My motivation for playing covers is 100% to perform it in my own style.  The process for learning the cover is basically this: play through as much of the song as I possibly can without referencing sheet music or a recorded version, put aside any thought of the original rhythm and chord structure, and play what comes out.

And that’s exactly what I’ve done here!  My hope is that you find it as fresh and unique as it is familiar and comforting!

Hope you enjoy my 3rd annual Christmas cover – I’ll be Home for Christmas

P.s. – If you have to be away from home for Christmas this season, or have had to in the past, leave a comment and share what you miss most!

4 thoughts on “A Christmas Video for You

Leave a Reply

