The Most Happenin’ Night I’ve Had Since…When? (Part 2/3)

Organic Hi-Fi

 

Wednesday I was talking with you all about my awakening at a crazy/refreshing jam session.  Check this out:

 

So I was thinking about it, and I realized that what really made the night was seeing all these artists make connections with each other, make plans to work with each other and show up at each other’s gigs.  I smile just thinking about the Creative Community I’m actively creating because…

My musical history consists mostly of learning solo classical piano by myself, writing songs by myself, teaching myself guitar, by myself…yeah, I think you get the point. When it came to music, I was in strict solitary confinement. I didn’t know how to play well with others and definitely did not want to share my toys.

Colors 2Through the past few years my path has slowly lead me to embracing the communal aspect of musicianship – something I’ve resisted and wanted for so long.  At the core of this struggle, I see that the fear of making mistakes has had me hunched in the corner with my volume knob down for years.

So when I listen back to the recordings from our jam, I hear acoustic electricity that’s raw and real and – well, everyone’s making mistakes.  But no one cares!  We’re all gracefully stumbling through each other’s songs, emotionally levitating so high that there are no longer mistakes, only colors.  Someone just played a minor 3rd in a major key?  Hey that sounded pretty cool…

 

Don’t go away, there’s more…

_____________________________________________________________________________

Smiling GuitarAbout Rae Hering

Although Rae Hering calls herself Alternative Pop, she continues to be a genre enigma.
With her sophisticated melodic sense and eclectic songwriting style, this multi-instrumentalist singer/songwriter creates intelligent music that ranges from playful to melancholy to funky.

_____________________________________________________________________________

I can’t tell you how much I appreciate when you connect and share my music! Your support is making my world go ’round. THANK YOU!

2 thoughts on “The Most Happenin’ Night I’ve Had Since…When? (Part 2/3)

  1. This reminds me a lot of when I try to get my students to just write what’s going on inside them and forget the grammar rules for ten minutes. Some amazing things can happen! I love the experience you’re sharing here! 🙂

    • Ah, that’s a great comparison! When we can let go of rules such as grammar and correct punctuation, that’s when emotion can take control and a real creative flow can happen. Thanks for sharing that, I like that a lot!!

Leave a Reply

